Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

Executive Session and Executive & Audit Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room October 26-27, 2017

Executive Session – Thursday, October 26, 2017

Board Members Present:

Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson,

Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Mr. Patrick S. Sparks, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, Dr. Samuel J. Swad, and Mr. William E.

Turner III

Others Present:

Ms. Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Ms. Katherine Brooks, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Ms. Meredith Canady, Ms. Julie Cheney, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Dr. Debbie C. Conner, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Mr. Stephen K. Harrison, Ms. Sara N. Hottinger, Ms. Jennifer Hughes, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Dr. Edward Jadallah, Ms. Jane E. Johansen, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Dr. Barbara A. Ritter, Mr. Mark A. Roach, Dr. Michael H. Roberts,

Dr. Reneé Smith, and Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. No media were in attendance.)

Chairman William Biggs brought the meeting to order at 12:20 p.m.

New Internal Auditor, Compliance and Risk Management Officer Robyn A. Jones was introduced. She has 30 years of auditing experience and the last ten years with higher education.

Biggs expressed appreciation to Wyatt Henderson, Carlos Johnson and Delan Stevens for serving on the Internal Auditor Selection Ad-hoc Committee.

Gene Spivey made a motion to go into executive session to review the compliance report regarding personnel matters. Dan Moore seconded and the motion carried.

Spivey moved to come out of executive session and Chuck Lewis seconded. Upon reconvening it was noted that no action was taken.

As there was no further business, the meeting adjourned.

Executive & Audit Committee October 26-27, 2017

Executive Session – Thursday, October 26, 2017

Board Members Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Samuel H. Frink,

Present: Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson,

Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Mr. Patrick S. Sparks, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey,

Mr. H. Delan Stevens, Dr. Samuel J. Swad, and Mr. William E. Turner III

Others Present: Mr. Lawton E. Benton, Ms. Katherine Brooks, Dr. J. Ralph Byington,

Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Dr. Debbie C. Conner, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Ms. Jane E. Johansen, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, and Mr. Stovall Witte

Chairman William Biggs brought the meeting to order at 1:45 p.m.

Everyone was in agreement to go into executive session to discuss legal matters.

Everyone was in agreement to go into executive session to review the Title IX Report which contains federally protected information and personnel matters.

Everyone was in agreement to go into executive session to review contractual matters involving the Coastal Educational Foundation.

Everyone was in agreement to go into executive session to review a contractual matter regarding the Nelson Mullins Riley Scarborough LLP contract.

Chuck Lewis moved to come out of Executive Session and Gene Spivey seconded. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

The meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted

V. Chyrel Stalvey

V. Chyrel Stalvey Recorder

Executive & Audit Committee October 26-27, 2017

Executive & Audit Committee – October 27, 2017

Board Members Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Samuel H. Frink,

Present: Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson,

Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Mr. Patrick S. Sparks, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey,

Mr. H. Delan Stevens, Dr. Samuel J. Swad, and Mr. William E. Turner III

Others Present: Ms. Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Mr. Lawton E. Benton, Ms. Katherine

Brooks, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Dr. Debbie C. Conner, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. David A. De Canner, Dr. Depiel I. Engis, Mr. Metthew, I. Hagne, Dr. Sara N.

DeCenzo, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Mr. Matthew L. Hogue, Dr. Sara N. Hottinger, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Dr. Edward Jadallah, Ms. Jane E.

Johansen, Mr. Christopher A. Johnson, Ms. Robyn A. Jones, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Dr. Barbara A. Ritter, Mr. Mark A. Roach, Dr. Michael H. Roberts, Dr. Reneé Smith, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, Mr. Gregory T.

Thompson, and Mr. David Yancey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Katie Powell of <u>The Horry Independent</u> was in attendance.)

Vice Chairman Carlos Johnson brought the Executive & Audit Committee to order at 9:01 a.m.

Will Turner moved to approve the Executive & Audit Committee minutes of August 3-4, 2017. Delan Stevens seconded, and the motion carried.

Ben Kochenower of Cline, Brandt, Kochenower & Certified Public Accountants reviewed the 2016-2017 audit, which reported an unmodified opinion. In spite of the financial challenges and employee changes this year, there were no weaknesses or significant deficiencies for compliance and financial reporting.

Part of the receipt of the audit is to allow the Board of Trustees the opportunity to ask the auditor any questions they would like regarding the audit. Carlos Johnson moved to go into executive session to discuss legal questions and receive a more in-depth review of the external audit. Daniel Moore seconded, and the motion carried. Stevens moved to come out of executive session and Chuck Lewis seconded.

Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

Wyatt Henderson moved to accept the 2016-2017 external audit for Coastal Carolina University as presented by Ben Kochenower of Cline, Brandt, Kochenower & Certified Public Accountants (Motion 17-63). Oran Smith seconded, and the motion carried.

Executive & Audit Committee October 26-27, 2017

As there was no further business, Turner moved to adjourn and Stevens seconded. The meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted

V. Chyrel Stalvey

V. Chyrel Stalvey Recorder